About the Trash Folders
The purpose of the trash folders is to recover projects and files that users have accidentally deleted. By default, the trash folders are located inside Strawberry’s
media_2, etc., on their respective storage. The trash is automatically cleaned up based on an admin-defined interval.
Strawberry will link entire projects into the trash when…
- they have been deleted from the Strawberry admin panel.
- they are prepared to be archived.
Strawberry will link individual media files into the Trash when…
- they have been deleted from a project on the Finder or Windows Explorer level.
- they have been deleted via the Strawberry user interface.
Changing the Settings for the Automatic Trash Deletion
Each night at around 3 am(server time), Strawberry runs a job called “DeleteTrashJob”. This job searches through the trash for files older than x hours and removes them from the trash by permanently deleting them. By default, deleted or archived projects and media files remain inside the trash for 168 hours (7 days). This setting can be changed as follows:
1. log in to the Strawberry server via SSH.
2. Navigate to the Strawberry config directory.
3. Copy the file
cp trash.yml.example trash.yml
4. Edit the file
trash.yml using an editor of your choice, but do not change the formatting or indentation.
You will now see the file’s content with the default trash deletion settings.
5. Change the numeric value to your preference.
6. Save your changes and exit the editor.
7. Restart the Strawberry service using
sb restart. If Strawberry is configured to run on a High Availability cluster, then use the respective commands for restarting services on an HA cluster.
Emptying the Trash manually
Performing the steps below will immediately remove all contents from the strawberry trash folders on all strawberry-managed storage.
1. Log in to the Strawberry Admin panel
2. Click on the
3. Click on the
Empty Trash tab
4. Click on the
Empty Trash Now button
Need more help with this?
Visit the Projective Support Websites