About the Trash Folders

The purpose of the trash folders is to recover projects and files that users have accidentally deleted. By default, the trash folders are located inside Strawberry’s media_1, media_2, etc., on their respective storage. The trash is automatically cleaned up based on an admin-defined interval.

Strawberry will link entire projects into the trash when…

  • they have been deleted from the Strawberry admin panel.
  • they are prepared for being archived.

Strawberry will link individual media files into the Trash when…

  • they have been deleted from a project on Finder or Windows Explorer level.
  • they have been deleted via the Strawberry user interface.

Changing the Settings for the Automatic Trash Deletion

Each night at around 3 am(server time), Strawberry runs a job called “DeleteTrashJob”. This job searches through the trash for files older than x hours and removes them from the trash by permanently deleting them. By default, deleted or archived projects and media files remain inside the trash for 168 hours (7 days). This setting can be changed as follows:

1. log in to the Strawberry server via SSH.
2. Navigate to the Strawberry config directory.

cd /opt/sb4/app/fsbase/config

3. Copy the file trash.yml.example to trash.yml.

cp trash.yml.example trash.yml

4. Edit the file trash.yml using an editor of your choice but make sure not to change the formatting or indentation.

You will now see the file’s content with the default trash deletion settings.

production:
  delete_after_hours: 168

5. Change the numeric value to your preference.
6. Save your changes and exit the editor.
7. Restart the Strawberry service using sb restart. If Strawberry is configured to run on a High Availability cluster, then use the respective commands for restarting services on an HA cluster.

Emptying the Trash manually

Performing the below steps will immediately remove all contents from the Strawberry trash folders on all Strawberry-managed storage.

1. Log in to the Strawberry Admin panel
2. Click on the Misc tab
3. Click on the Empty Trash tab
4. Click on the Empty Trash Now button

Last modified: Jul 04, 2022

Need more help with this?
Visit the Projective Support Websites

Thanks for your feedback.